Chuck Todd, media celebrities, priviledge and the degradation of news operations

I was going to post an exchange between Jeremy Scahill (auther of the extremely well-researched and well-written book on Blackwater) and MSNBC’s Chuck Todd on the Bill Mahrer show last week but opted to go make some money rather than write sentences few will read (I’m working on prudence).

But Glenn Greenwald this morning related a message he got from Scahill of a conversation between Todd and Scahill that occurred immediately after and it is so representative of a serious problem with modern cable “journalism” that I thought it ought to be here.

You can see a bit of the Mahrer exchange  here (apparently, youtube pulled the full piece, apparently on a complaint from HBO?).

So, Scahill takes Todd to task on the show for shoddy journalistic standards and performance.   And after the show, Scahill recounts this exchange:

Right as we walked off stage, he said to me “that was a cheap shot.” I said “what are you talking about?” and he said “you know it.” I then said that I monitor msm coverage very closely and asked him what was not true that I said on the show. He then replied: “that’s not the point. You sullied my reputation on TV.”

Leave a Reply

