Keith Richard on his blues influence

It’s very difficult to say – when did I identify the blues as a particular form of music? My mum was playing me jazz – a lot of Billie Holiday, Billy Eckstine, Sarah Vaughan. I mean, it’s not your country blues but, as I went on, I realised that I was brought up on a broad basis of blues music without even knowing it, so, in a way, I’m a result of what my mum played. I had a natural affinity for it, I think, so it wasn’t like a conscious thing or anything like that. You know, I didn’t think in terms of black or white then. You didn’t know whether Chuck Berry was black or white – it was not a concern. It was just what came in the ears and, my, what it did to you.

continue reading here

Leave a Reply

