The ad hominem – an example from Laura Ingraham

As I’ve noted before, rightwing radio is chockablock full of logical fallacies.  It’s what they do and they couldn’t continue without them.  The ad hominem is, of course, the avoidance of any address to what the person argues through redirecting attention to something about the person (as contrasted with the person’s statement).

MCCAIN (on MSNBC): And I think there’s an extreme on both parties and I hate extreme. I don’t understand. I have friends that are the most radically conservative and radically liberal people possibly ever and we all get along. We can find a middle ground.

INGRAHAM (mocking): Ok, I was really hoping that I was going to get that role in the Real World, but then I realized that, well, they don’t like plus-sized models. They only like the women who look a certain way. And on this 50th anniversary of Barbie, I really have something to say.

from Think Progress

Leave a Reply

